Current Routine: Skincare

For the first instalment of my Current Routines series, I am starting at the beginning, naturally.

My current skincare routine – I like to change it up and try new products, especially when I can grab new and exciting brands at a bargain price (TK Maxx, of course).

I have included a mixture of higher end, and drugstore products for your perusal:

Cleanser
Simple Kind to Skin Purifying Cleansing Lotion
What I like about this product is that you don’t have to wash it off with water afterwards. I know it sounds lazy, but my room is a flight of stairs away from the bathroom, so it makes me happy that my cleanser just melts away with a cotton pad. It’s excellent for sensitive skin, and removes make up that you cannot even see. I feel dirty without it. Literally, of course.

image

Toner
Simple Kind to Skin Pore Minimising Toning Cleanser
I promise I’m not being sponsored, I am just loving the Simple range at the moment! I aren’t entirely sure why I use a toner, but ‘cleanse and tone’ is how it goes, right? I find myself using this more in a morning to freshen up my face before I apply my make up. I then go on to apply primer, a base etc.

Blemish Control
If you are one of those annoying people who don’t get spots/zits (whatever you call them) then just slide on right past this section! For me, and quite of a lot of other ladies out there, we are prone to spots. My worst days are around my period, I often get a random volcano pop up from nowhere… So how do I combat them? I have a few tricks up my sleeve…
image

Kiehls Blemish Control Daily Skin-Clearing Treatment
I picked this up in a TK Maxx haul at the sum of £12.99 which whilst still pricy, is considerably less than it’s RRP. I use this in my T-zone on a night and have found that less spots have occurred since I started, so I shall continue that way!

Yes to…Clear Skin: Acne Clearing Facial Toner
We’ve all been there, that one spot that won’t heal and disappear, and won’t be covered by thickest of concealers. This product is great for drying up those pesky zits. Using a cotton pad I press the product into the spot and hold it there for a few minutes. The next day I find it has dried up a lot, and is on its way to healing. I wouldn’t use this all over my face as it would dry it out, but it’s fab for specific spots.

Hand Cream
Tui & Kahili Sooth Tube by Ashley & Co: Wild Ginger Lily
I suffer with recurring eczema on my left hand so I have to be careful what I use. I tend to go for hand creams with natural ingredients, in the hope that it might just help. Until now, I had never tried a product (that wasn’t prescribed by a doctor) that has had such a profound effect on my eczema. This cream is non greasy, is made with Shea butter and other good natural products. It has improved my eczema so much, I can’t even put it words. I went back and bought another tube!
image

Moisturiser
Tru Holy Grail Facial Moisture
If you don’t like scented moisturisers then you won’t like this, but if you can handle a ‘complex scent’ (which is how they describe it…) Then you may like this as much as I do.
I won’t lie, it smells of raw potatoes. Strange, right?
You only need two pumps of this to cover your face (and at the RRP that is all you’re going to want to use!)
I promise though, if you can look past the price and the scent, then you’ll love this moisturiser. It has become a favourite in my routine.

image

So, those are my current favourites. Have you tried any of them, or do you have a recommendation for me?

Leave a Reply

