Spot a Fake: MAC Lipstick

I’ve recently fallen into the trap of purchasing a fake MAC lipstick, from a seller on Depop.

I know, I know. I should have known better.

I always like to think the best of people and I naively fell straight into this fake trap.

It was advertised at Β£10.50, so not too much less than RRP. However, not having a MAC shop within 60miles of where I live, meant I would be saving a fair bit. The seller also had good feedback from previously sold items.

Looking back, someone wanting to sell a fake it going to price it in this way – not too cheap and not too near the RRP. I won’t fall for it again. The good feedback may have been from unsuspecting buyers who don’t have the experience to be able to tell a fake from a genuine product – who knows!

image

The Sticker
At first glance there seems nothing untoward with the sticker. It is exactly the same as the real ones….or is it?

When you look closely and compare it to a genuine MAC lipstick, the sticker is very shiny and very silver in comparison to the genuine product, as with all other MAC lipsticks, where the sticker is a dull silver.

The Appearance & Smell
The lipsticks look similar both having the teardrop tip, classic MAC signature. Another tell tale signs is the smell, genuine products have a light vanilla scent to them, no matter which colour. The fake product smells awful, like stomach churningly awful. It’s either gone off or was made like this, either way, I would hate to think of anyone putting this on their lips!

image

The Packaging
Now, admittedly this is a good fake and if you don’t know what you’re looking for it would be easy to be fooled.

The MAC logo should be engraved into the packaging – it looks similar until you run your thumb over it – the fake has been printed onto the tube. You can even see from the picture where I’ve been able to scratch part of the ‘A’ off.

image

The ultimate test was trying the lid of my genuine lippy, on the fake – no surprise, it doesn’t fit. All genuine MAC lipsticks have the same sized packaging, so the lids should fit perfectly if for some reason you wanted to mix and match.

In this case, I was lucky. The seller refunded my payment without expecting me to send the product back. I wanted to share my experience with you so you don’t end up out of pocket – no one likes a scammer!

I hope this has helped you in making sure you’re buying genuine products. Sources like eBay and Depop, among others, are notorious for selling fakes, because it’s such a big market. If in doubt, just buy it directly from MAC – it’ll save time, money and frustration in the long run!

8 thoughts on “Spot a Fake: MAC Lipstick

  1. katieemmabeauty says:

    I think it’s terrible that people can get away with this! But thanks for sharing this with us, it’s really useful. I always see Mac Lipsticks being sold on places like Ebay and can’t make my mind up, but at least now I know what to look out for!

    Also, thanks for the recent comment on my blog πŸ™‚

    Katie | katieemmabeauty.com

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

