Matte Lipsticks: Hits & Misses

image

Lipstick. It enhances your make up and completes your look. It is a finishing touch that brings it all together.

I’ve been quite brave recently and have branched out in trying different shades and new brands. Going with the flow and current trends I’ve tried a few matte lippy’s including the liquid kind.

Having lips that are prone to dryness worried me a little but I jumped in the deep end anyway. Some of these have really impressed me, and sadly some have not. So, let’s get to it shall we?

image

Lipstick: Hit
Charlotte Tilbury’s Matte Revolution Lipstick in Very Victoria
You may have already perused my Tilbury Test blog post, but if you haven’t go check it out here. I am featuring this beautiful product again because I just love it so much and I’ve worn it lots more since writing my initial review. It is the everyday matte lipstick that I can’t live without. It’s classy, elegant, pigmented and versatile. I could wear this to work or on a night out and it wouldn’t be out of place. If you can bare to splurge, because admittedly it is pricey, then treat yourself. You deserve it!

image

Lipstick: Miss
Revlon’s Super Lustrous Matte Lipstick in Smoked Peach
This next product isn’t a total wipe out, it just doesn’t make the grade for me. With so many amazing matte lipsticks out there, it is a fierce battle to get on the podium.
Revlon lipsticks have a great moisturising formula and I always get on well with their lipsticks, matte or otherwise. This one tended to dry my lips out a little quicker than I would expect for Revlon, and the colour isn’t easy to wear being as pale as I am. I don’t hate it, but I don’t reach for it!

image

Liquid Lipstick: Hit
Gerard Cosmetics’ Hydra-Matte Liquid Lipstick in Iced Mocha
Okay. I love this liquid lipstick. Relatively new to the UK, I was very excited to receive this in the post from Beauty Bay and got to trying it straight away. It’s very dark in comparison to my usual shade safety net but I loved it straight away. For a ‘hydra-matte’ liquid lipstick this product is so hydrating and stays put for so long! The colour is so pigmented and fades well – no crusty lines or anything! I definitely recommend it, I can’t wait to try other shades. I have my eye on Ecstasy and Invasion.

image

Liquid Lipstick: Miss
Bourjois’ Liquid Lipstick in Don’t pink of it!
Now, this liquid lipstick has great reviews elsewhere but it just didn’t live up to my expectations unfortunately. I searched high and low for this shade as Boots always seemed to be out of stock, I eventually found it in Marks and Spencer. The colour isn’t the issue, I do love that it has brown undertones with a hint of pink. The thing I don’t like is the longevity and what it looks like after just a few hours of wear. My lips looked cracked, felt dry and this was only at lunch time! It might just be my lips because other people love these, they just don’t like me πŸ˜₯

image

(L-R) Bourjois, Revlon, Charlotte Tilbury, Gerard Cosmetics

Have you given any of these matte lipsticks a try? What did you think? Is there any you would recommend I try?

5 thoughts on “Matte Lipsticks: Hits & Misses

Leave a Reply

