The Tilbury Test

By now you’ve probably heard of Charlotte Tilbury and her magical formula’s. The new Magic Foundation, night cream, and her gorgeous new Matte Revolution lipsticks. Here is my first impressions review on my recent CT purchases to hopefully make things a little easier for you when deciding what to buy.

Foundation
image

Where do I start? It’s called Magic Foundation, and it truly lives up to its name. Like, seriously. Granted I’ve only tried it twice so far, but I already know its a winner!

I used to wear MAC studio fix, which yes, is fine. But even the lightest shades didn’t quite match my skin tone, and there was always a very fine line between good foundation day and cakey mess. Who needs that sort of dilemma at 7am in the rush to get ready for work?!

I wasn’t sure whether I would be shade 1 or shade 2… I am pretty pale, with pinky undertones, in case you were wondering. I asked the lady in Harvey Nichols and she tested both on my skin for me side by side. It was soon apparent that I was shade 2. Having never been anything other than the lightest  shade in a foundation, it showed me that CT has created a brilliant spectrum of shades fit for everyone. Something other brands could do to take note of!

image

(Left) Charlotte Tilbury, Shade 1. (Right) Revlon Colourstay Ivory.

The swatches I’ve done show my old foundation, Revlon Colourstay in 110 Ivory, next to Charlotte Tilbury’s Magic Foundation. Magic foundation definitely has pinkie undertones, which suits my skin tone better.

Ever since I watched reviews and Charlotte Tilbury’s demo of this foundation, I wanted to try it. Could it really be magic?

Well after testing it I have to say it certainly does what it says on the tin…
It’s a light formula but with great coverage. I started with just one pump and covered my entire face, only going back for a further half-pump to cover areas where I get redness and had blemishes.

I am really very impressed with how natural it looks, no cakey mess, no shiny chin and its still in place at the end of the day!

If you were on the fence about this foundation, hop over the fence my friend, and get this foundation purchased! You won’t regret it.

Matte Revolution Lipstick and Lip Cheat Pencil
image

Nude/brown lipsticks are very ‘in’ at the moment, and thankfully I suit lipsticks with a brown undertone.

Whilst researching I came across Very Victoria on the CT website and fell in love. Head over heels. Well, flats, I don’t like heels. But you get the point.

Looking at swatches online I was so excited to buy this lipstick. It looked like a ‘my lips but way better’ kinda lipstick.
On the website you can buy Very Victoria with the Foxy Brown lip cheat lip liner and save a whole £1 (wow…) However I wasn’t sure because the liner seemed pretty dark in comparison.

I waited until my trip to Leeds and spoke with the lovely CT lady there. The darker lip pencil was too dark for me, it would suit darker skin tones – I was glad I didn’t buy it online at this point!
I found Iconic Nude to be a great match for the lipstick which suited my skin tone and so I bought Very Victoria with Iconic Nude.

image

(Top) Iconic Nude. (Bottom) Very Victoria.

It’s not as moisturising as some of my other lipsticks, but isn’t really drying. I just found myself applying it once or twice during the day for a little bit more moisture. I do suffer from dry lips though, so you may not get this problem.

Overall, I love the colour of both the lipstick and lipliner together. It’s definitely going to be worn a lot.

Night Cream

This stuff retails at £100! For one pot! I got a free sample through the post, so obviously I had to try it.

It’s a very thick consistency, I find it hard to describe, almost like a face mask. It smells lovely though!

I have normal/combo skin so I found that my skin was quite shiny the next day, it didn’t need all that extra moisture. However I am sure it would be great for someone with dry skin, if you don’t mind the price tag.

It isn’t something I would purchase as I find that my ‘Yes to’ night cream suits my skin better, but its a lovely luxury item for someone with drier skin than my own.

Have you tried any of these products? Let me know what you thought.

3 thoughts on “The Tilbury Test

  1. Phoebida says:

    Ooh Charlotte Tilbury is just stunning, honestly I could just swoon over her products all day haha!! These products both look so good, lovely post! 🙂 xxx

    Phoebe & Abida // phoebida.blogspot.co.uk

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

